Wakefield Press Essay Prize

Wakefield Press Essay Prize Award 2022

The History Council of South Australia and Wakefield Press will welcome applicants for the 2022 annual Wakefield Press Prize in December 2021 for the best essay on a topic relating to the history of South Australia. The due date for submissions is Friday 1 April 2022.

The prize is open to anyone who during the year 2021 has written or published an essay dealing substantially with some aspect of South Australian history. The word length should be between 2,000 and 10,000 words (including footnotes/endnotes).

How to submit an essay

Previously published work is accepted, however, we ask that such entries be submitted as Word documents, and not as photocopies of published articles or chapters so that anonymity is maintained. The judges will assess entries according to the originality of their contributions to South Australian history and the quality of their writing and research.

The prize consists of a $500 book voucher from Wakefield Press. It will be presented at the annual History Council of South Australia awards in 2022. Essays from 2021 must be submitted by 1 April 2022. The essay should be accompanied by a cover page bearing the essay title, the word count, the author’s signature, contact address and phone number. These details should only appear on the cover page, not on the essay.

Completed nominations must be posted to the Secretary, PO Box 6809, 5-7 Halifax Street, Adelaide 5000 or alternatively you may email your essay to the [email protected], by 5 pm Friday, 1 April 2022.

Decisions of the judges appointed by the History Council will be final.


The 2021 winner was Connor Deegan. The 2021 judges' commendations were Maggi Boult and Rita Bogna. Read more here.

The 2020 winner was Susan Arthure. Read more here.

The 2019 winners can be found here.


All Past Winners

The Wakefield Press Essay Prize (originally titled the Wakefield Companion to South Australian History Prize) began in 2005.