HCSA Historian Awards 2022 Winners and History Festival Finale Celebration

31 May 2022

Wakefield Press · Books From Australia - Connect with Australian Publishers

About the event

The 2022 South Australian Historian of the Year Awards and 2022 History Festival Finale Celebration were jointly held in the Grand Foyer at the Freemasons Hall, North Terrace, Adelaide, on the final day of South Australia's History Festival, Tuesday 31 May.

The event was a major success and was well-attended. The HCSA would like to thank all the speakers: our MC, Major Ian Smith; Uncle Major 'Moogy' Sumner for performing the Welcome to Country; as well as Minister for Education Blair Boyer MP, Greg Mackie of the History Trust of SA, Michael Bollen of Wakefield Press, Dr Gillian Dooley of the HCSA, and Dr David Sweet of Oral History Australia SA/NT. We would also like to thank photographer Jiayuan Liang; Quince Catering; the organisers: History Trust of SA, and the HCSA; the generous sponsors, Wakefield Press and Penfolds Wines; the Freemasons for the use of the grand venue; Mosaic Audio Visual; and everyone that attended.

Photographs courtesy of Jiayuan Liang.


Wakefield Press Essay Prize


Stephen Valambras Graham, UniSA

Photograph courtesy of Jiayuan Liang.

For the essay: ‘Open Doors: The Art of Charity in the Promised Land’.

Judges’ comments: Exploring the representation of charity in paintings and drawings from the late 1830s to the 1860s, this essay is an intriguing re-examination of well-known images that challenges our traditional understandings of them, and our State's past.


Judges’ Commendation

Professor Angela Woollacott, ANU

Photograph courtesy of Angela Woollacott.

For the essay: ‘1968 and the Fight for Democracy in Australia: Don Dunstan, student activism and the end of the South Australian ‘Playmander’’.

Judges’ comment: Re-examining the events surrounding the Dunstan Government’s 1968 election loss, this essay is an important contribution to twentieth century South Australian history, placing this local constitutional struggle in its national and international context.


Historian Awards

Contribution to Regional/Community History Award

The Gumeracha & District History Centre

Photograph courtesy of Jiayuan Liang.

The Judges were immediately impressed by the wide ranging and vibrant community support that this History Centre has generated in the Adelaide Hills region.  Fourteen townships have participated in this special history and archival collection.  Furthermore it has opened up history to younger generations through the schools, supported those undertaking family research and as a collection of corporate records not available elsewhere.  Research is on the centenary celebrations for the Gumeracha District Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital and there are changing displays in the foyer of the Civic Centre on the history of the region.

The Gumeracha & District History Centre's president, Mr Bernard Arnold, collected the award on behalf of the organisation.


Oral History Excellence Award

Helen Meyer

Photograph courtesy of Elizabeth Ho OAM.

For the first time, this year (2022), in conjunction with Oral History Australia SA/NT, the Oral History Excellence Award has been included as part of the HCSA Historian Awards. This is a brand-new award, which recognises the best oral history presentation, in any format, that uses first person interviews with individuals encompassing unique life experiences and memories. The nominee can be either an individual or a group.

For this inaugural Award the Judges acknowledged the changing approach to and use of oral histories in the community. Helen, as Executive Producer and volunteer of Service Voices on Radio Adelaide has researched and broadcast hundreds of programs containing the oral histories and memories from the veteran, service, volunteer, Defence and history communities. She has given a voice to sectors of our community not available elsewhere. Helen and Service Voices have been instrumental in ensuring recognition of the history of many who have served Australia, regardless of their rank or position; often these personal and inspiring narratives come from their families, presenting a broader picture than the purely official records.

Historian of the Year Award

Adam Dutkiewicz

Photograph courtesy of Jiayuan Liang.

Adam as the historian for the Royal SA Society of Arts has collated, documented the history of the RSASA since its beginning in 1856. The judges  were unanimous in acknowledging Adam’s continuing research in to artists in South Australia, culminating in the history exhibition the RSASA held in conjunction with the Pioneers Association in May 2021. This wonderful display of art and history showed a dedication and quality that will inspire others in investigating our history.


Lifelong Historian Award

Paul Mazourek

Photograph courtesy of Jiayuan Liang.

Paul has achieved a remarkable depth across numerous projects that reflect aspects of the unique history of South Australia. The judges noted the integrated commitment of not only his research, but the wide ranging public connection to history through his presentations and community activities as a curator, historian and developing links with the indigenous communities. Paul's delivery, in an informative and interesting manner of public and practical aspects of marine history, activities, indigenous culture and history in the Whyalla and Spencer Gulf regions has been outstanding.



Photograph courtesy of Jiayuan Liang.

From left to right: John Gardner MP, Stephen V Graham (Wakefield Press Essay Prize), Bernard Arnold (President Gumeracha & District History Centre), Helen Meyer (Oral History Excellence Award), Paul Mazourek (Lifelong Historian Award), Adam Dutkiewicz (Historian of the Year), Blair Boyer MP (Minister for Education), Dr David Sweet (President Oral History Australia SA/NT), Dr Gillian Dooley (President HCSA)



Many thanks again to the event’s Sponsors: